Disclosure
This post contains affiliate links, which means I may earn a small commission if you make a purchase through my links, at no extra cost to you.
How to use it
Quick answer: Published red light therapy protocols for facial wrinkles run 10 to 21 minutes per session, two to three times per week, for four to six weeks before any objective change appears. The single sham-controlled trial that compared frequencies found three sessions a week performed no better than two. Daily use is not supported by the evidence and photobiomodulation has a documented biphasic dose response, meaning more can work against you.
Some links in this post are affiliate links. If you buy through them I earn a commission at no extra cost to you. I bought the mask I use with my own money. I am not a doctor and nothing here is medical advice.
Written by Anna Katherine Page, who has used an LED mask three to four nights a week for two years. Last updated September 4, 2026.
Key takeaways
Two to three sessions a week is what the published protocols actually use. Not daily.
Bragato 2025, the best-designed trial in this area, randomised 95 women to three sessions a week, two sessions a week, or sham. Two was not worse than three.
Session length in published facial studies runs 10 to 21 minutes. Ten is the standard for consumer masks.
Four weeks is the shortest trial duration that showed any objective change. The FDA-cleared indication for this device class assumes six.
Photobiomodulation is biphasic. In laboratory work, doses past the optimum reduce the effect and can reverse it. “More does not necessarily mean better” is a direct quote from the researchers who defined the dose curve.
Total joules is not a complete description of a dose. The same energy delivered at a higher intensity over a shorter time can produce a different result.
How often should you use red light therapy on your face?
Two to three times a week. That is what nearly every published protocol uses, and it is the number I would give a friend without hesitation.
The reason this question is confusing is that device manufacturers recommend more. INIA suggests three to five times a week. Some brands say daily. Meanwhile the FDA clearance filed by the factory that builds INIA’s masks recommends “10 minutes a day, 3 times per week,” which is more conservative than the brand’s own marketing.
Here is what the research actually used.
Facial photobiomodulation protocols from published studies and one FDA clearance. Fluence is the energy delivered per session in joules per square centimetre.
Study or source
Session length
Frequency
Duration
Fluence
Bragato 2025, sham-controlled RCT, 95 women
21 min
2 or 3 ×/week
4 weeks
8.05 J/cm²
Wunsch 2014, 128 completers
12 to 25 min
2 ×/week
30 sessions
~9 J/cm²
Lee 2007, double-blind split-face, 76 subjects
Not stated
2 ×/week
4 weeks
66 to 126 J/cm²
Mota 2023, 137 women
Not stated
10 sessions
4 weeks
3.8 J/cm²
FDA 510(k) K250966, consumer mask
10 min
5 ×/week
6 weeks
~18 J/cm²
FDA 510(k) K243040, consumer mask
10 min
3 ×/week
Not stated
Not stated
Notice how narrow the real range is. Ten to twenty-one minutes, two or three times a week. Nothing in that table supports twice a day, and only one row supports five times a week.
Does three times a week work better than twice?
No, and this is the most useful single finding in the literature for anyone who owns a mask.
Bragato and colleagues, publishing in Lasers in Medical Science in 2025, randomised 95 women aged 45 to 60 into three arms: a red LED mask three times a week, the same mask twice a week, and a sham mask twice a week. Double-blind, sham-controlled, four weeks.
On the blinded specialist-rated Wrinkle Assessment Scale, there were no significant differences among any of the groups. Software-measured wrinkle length improved at the glabella and right periorbital sites. Satisfaction was high in both treated groups. The authors concluded that two weekly sessions appear sufficient.
I want to be straight about what that study shows, because it cuts both ways. The blinded human assessors could not see a difference between the treated women and the sham group at all. That is the best-designed facial trial in this field and its primary blinded outcome was null. It is also the trial that tells you three sessions buy you nothing over two.
The pattern to watch for. A 2025 narrative review covering 59 red light studies and 1,882 patients found that for photoaging, patient satisfaction ran 59 to 91 percent while objective clinically significant change ran 0 to 52 percent. People consistently feel better about their skin than blinded assessors can measure. That gap is the size of the expectation effect in this category, and it is why uncontrolled before-and-after photos are close to worthless here.
How long should each session be?
Ten minutes for a consumer mask. That is what the devices are timed for and it is inside the published range.
The arithmetic matters more than the minutes. A mask putting out 30 mW/cm² for ten minutes delivers about 18 J/cm², which sits at the top of the 1 to 20 J/cm² band that Huang and Hamblin describe as standard for stimulation in photobiomodulation. Doubling the session to twenty minutes puts you at 36, which is outside it.
Most masks have a built-in ten minute timer and shut themselves off. That timer is not a limitation to work around. It is the dose.
Can you do red light therapy twice a day?
You can physically do it. I would not, and here is the specific reason.
Photobiomodulation follows what researchers call a biphasic dose response. Huang, Sharma, Carroll and Hamblin laid this out in Dose-Response in 2011, and their summary is blunt: “Within a decade of the introduction of LLLT in the 1970s it was realized that more does not necessarily mean better.”
The laboratory numbers behind that are striking. Fibroblasts irradiated at 632.8nm showed maximum proliferation at 2.5 J/cm² and cell damage at 10. Mouse fibroblasts at 810nm showed ATP production rising at 3 J/cm² and falling at 30. In a mouse traumatic brain injury model, the dose that worked as a single treatment, repeated daily for fourteen days, produced benefit for four days, nothing by day five, and by day fourteen the treated animals performed worse than untreated controls.
Two honest caveats. Every one of those inversion points comes from cells or rodents. There is no published human facial dose-ranging study establishing where the down-slope begins in skin, and the 2025 review says so directly: “at present, no consensus exists on optimal dosing parameters, including frequency and duration of use.”
So the case against twice a day is not that somebody proved it harmful in human faces. It is that nobody has established an upper bound, the underlying dose curve is known to invert, and the one trial that compared two frequencies found the lower one was enough. Doubling your exposure buys you no demonstrated benefit against an uncharacterised risk. That trade is bad.
Why doesn’t more red light therapy mean better results?
Because intensity is a separate variable from total energy, and this is the part that almost never gets explained.
Two experiments in the Huang and Hamblin review make the point cleanly. In a hamster oral mucositis model, 0.9 J/cm² delivered at 55 mW/cm² over 16 seconds reduced severity. The identical 0.9 J/cm² delivered at 155 mW/cm² over 6 seconds did nothing. In a rat wound model, 5 J/cm² at 4 mW/cm² improved tensile strength, and the same 5 J/cm² at 15 mW/cm² lost the benefit entirely.
Same joules. Different result. Which means “total joules” is not a sufficient description of a dose, and a brighter panel used for a shorter time is not equivalent to a dimmer one used for longer.
This is also why the LED mask marketing arms race over output figures is not the straightforward good thing it looks like. A higher irradiance number is not automatically better. It changes where you sit on a curve that nobody has mapped for human faces.
How long before you see results?
Four weeks at the absolute earliest. Six is more realistic, and that is what the FDA-cleared indication for this device class assumes.
Nothing credible in the published literature reports meaningful objective change before about four weeks. Bragato ran four. Lee ran four. Wunsch ran thirty sessions across roughly fifteen weeks. The acne literature, where blue light separates from comparators, shows that separation emerging at weeks four to eight with peak effect at twelve.
If you see a two-week before-and-after on social media, you are looking at lighting, hydration and camera angle. I say that as someone who posts before-and-afters. It is genuinely hard to shoot an honest one and almost nobody does.
There is one more gap worth knowing: durability after you stop is essentially unstudied. Cochrane’s criticism of the acne light literature was that fewer than half the trials assessed anything beyond eight weeks. Nobody can tell you what happens three months after you put the mask in a drawer.
What does a realistic routine look like?
Here is mine, after two years.
Three nights a week, ten minutes, on clean dry bare skin with nothing underneath. No serum, no oil, no SPF, no makeup, because anything on your face is between the light and your skin. Eye pads in. I do it lying down before bed, though the wireless mask I use means I have also done it while answering emails, which is the honest reason I have kept it up rather than any discipline on my part.
Moisturiser goes on a few minutes afterwards. I do not layer a retinoid on the same night, which is a caution based on barrier irritation rather than a documented interaction, and I explain the reasoning in whether you can use retinol or tretinoin with red light therapy.
The mask I use is the INIA GLOW, which measures about 30 mW/cm² independently, the same as a mask costing three times more. I wrote up what does and does not verify about it in my full two-year review.
The mask I use three nights a week
Wireless, silicone, ten minute timer, two swappable batteries so it is always charged.
Anyone who has not tried a retinoid first. Topical tretinoin for photodamage has a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised trials behind it. LED has nothing of comparable weight for wrinkles. If your budget only stretches to one thing, the evidence points at the retinoid.
Anyone with melasma or a pigmentary disorder. Visible light is an established melasma aggravator and heat-generating devices are a recognised risk. This is a dermatologist conversation.
Anyone on photosensitising medication, or with a photosensitive dermatosis. The LED literature specifically flags screening for this.
Anyone who wants a result in two weeks. It does not happen in two weeks and a device that promises it is lying to you.
Frequently asked questions
How often should you use red light therapy on your face for wrinkles?
Two to three times a week. That is the frequency used in almost every published facial protocol, and the one sham-controlled trial that directly compared two sessions a week against three found no advantage to the higher frequency.
How long should a red light therapy session be?
Ten minutes for a consumer LED mask. Published facial studies run 10 to 21 minutes. At a typical 30 mW/cm2 output, ten minutes delivers about 18 J/cm2, which is at the top of the standard stimulation range described in the photobiomodulation literature.
Can you do red light therapy twice a day?
The evidence does not support it. Photobiomodulation has a biphasic dose response where benefit falls away and can reverse past an optimal dose, no human facial study has established where that upper bound sits, and the one trial comparing frequencies found the lower frequency was sufficient. There is no demonstrated benefit to weigh against an uncharacterised risk.
Why doesn’t more red light therapy work better?
Because intensity is an independent variable from total energy. In published animal work, the identical dose in joules produced a benefit at one intensity and no effect at another. Total joules alone does not describe a dose, and past an optimum the effect diminishes and can invert.
How long before you see results from red light therapy on your face?
Four weeks at the earliest and six is more realistic. That is the shortest duration at which published trials showed any objective change, and six weeks is what the FDA-cleared indication for consumer LED masks assumes. A two-week before-and-after is showing you lighting.
Should you use red light therapy in the morning or at night?
No study has compared them. Choose whichever you will actually do consistently, on clean bare skin with nothing between the light and your face. Consistency over weeks is the only variable in your control that the evidence supports.
Do you need to take days off between red light therapy sessions?
Published protocols space sessions out rather than running them consecutively, typically every two to three days. There is no trial establishing an optimal rest interval, but every protocol that produced a measurable result used gaps rather than daily use.
Does red light therapy work under the eyes?
The periocular area is where the strongest measured effects appear. Mota 2023 found periocular wrinkle volume reduced by about 30 percent, and Bragato found improvement at the periorbital site. Both come with a caveat: Mota treated both sides of every face actively with no sham comparator, so the 30 percent figure is an uncontrolled before-and-after. Keep the mask’s eye pads in regardless.
About the author. Anna Katherine Page reviews beauty devices, home tools and garden equipment at annakatherinepage.com and on YouTube at @ak_page. She buys the products she reviews and reads the underlying research and FDA filings before she writes. She lives in Seneca, South Carolina.
Leave a Reply